Skip to content
Practical PawsTHE EVERYDAY FIELD GUIDE

Cat care · manufacturer specs

Automatic litter boxes compared: maker specs side by side

This is a side-by-side of what each manufacturer publishes, not a hands-on test or ranking. Prices change: check the date shown and confirm details on the official site before buying. For a closer look at two models, read our Litter-Robot 4 vs Neakasa M1 guide.

At a glance

Whisker Litter-Robot 4

Design
Enclosed rotating globe
Cat weight
3–25 lb
Entry
15.75" × 15.75" opening
Waste capacity
Not stated; emptying “as low as once every 8 days”
Compatible litter
Clumping clay only; not plant-based, paper, pellet, or non-clumping
Price (USD)
From $699on the official site, checked November 1, 2026

Neakasa M1

Design
Open-top rotating drum
Cat weight
2.2–about 33 lb
Entry
13.86" entry height
Waste capacity
11.23 L bin (“up to 14 days”)
Compatible litter
Clumping or scoopable; not non-clumping, paper, or pellet
Price (USD)
$379.99 on sale (list $549.99)on the official site, checked November 1, 2026

PETKIT PuraMax 2

Design
Enclosed rotating cylinder
Cat weight
3.3–22 lb
Entry
7.87" (200 mm) entrance height
Waste capacity
7 L bin (“up to 15 days” for one cat, maker's lab figure)
Compatible litter
Most clumping litters; pieces no longer than 12 mm
Price (USD)
$399.99 on sale (list $599.99)on the official site, checked November 1, 2026

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro

Design
Open tray with rake; covered versions sold
Cat weight
Not stated by maker
Entry
Not stated by maker
Waste capacity
Disposable tray; one tray “up to a month” for one cat
Compatible litter
ScoopFree crystal litter trays only
Price (USD)
$129.99on the official site, checked November 1, 2026

Full spec table

Maker statements, including capacity and emptying estimates, are reproduced as published. Scroll horizontally to see every model.

SpecificationWhisker Litter-Robot 4Neakasa M1PETKIT PuraMax 2PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
DesignEnclosed rotating globeOpen-top rotating drumEnclosed rotating cylinderOpen tray with rake; covered versions sold
Cat weight3–25 lb2.2–about 33 lb3.3–22 lbNot stated by maker
Entry15.75" × 15.75" opening13.86" entry height7.87" (200 mm) entrance heightNot stated by maker
Dimensions22" W × 27" D × 29.5" HNot stated by maker24.41 × 21.18 × 21.73 in (620 × 538 × 552 mm)27.6 × 19.1 × 6.2 in (uncovered)
Waste capacityNot stated; emptying “as low as once every 8 days”11.23 L bin (“up to 14 days”)7 L bin (“up to 15 days” for one cat, maker's lab figure)Disposable tray; one tray “up to a month” for one cat
Compatible litterClumping clay only; not plant-based, paper, pellet, or non-clumpingClumping or scoopable; not non-clumping, paper, or pelletMost clumping litters; pieces no longer than 12 mmScoopFree crystal litter trays only
Cats supportedUp to 4 cats per unitNot stated by makerNot stated by makerSingle or multi-cat households
Empty unit weight (lb)2422.8122Not stated by maker
Warranty1 year included; 3-year plan sold separately2-year limitedNot stated by makerNot stated by maker
Recurring suppliesClumping clay litter plus drawer linerson the official site, checked November 1, 2026Clumping litter plus waste-bin bagson the official site, checked November 1, 2026Clumping litter plus waste-bin bagson the official site, checked November 1, 2026Disposable crystal trays ($73.49 for a 3-pack on the official site)on the official site, checked November 1, 2026
List price (USD)Not stated by makeron the official site, checked November 1, 2026$549.99on the official site, checked November 1, 2026$599.99on the official site, checked November 1, 2026$129.99on the official site, checked November 1, 2026
Sale / starting price (USD)$699on the official site, checked November 1, 2026$379.99on the official site, checked November 1, 2026$399.99on the official site, checked November 1, 2026Not stated by makeron the official site, checked November 1, 2026
Specs checked
SourceOfficial specsOfficial specsOfficial specsOfficial specs

What the specs do not tell you

How we built this table

Values were copied from each maker's official page on the date shown. “Not stated by maker” means that page did not list the value. We will update the table as pages change. Use the official specs links to check the latest details.