The core difference between the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 and Neakasa M1 is an enclosed rotating globe versus an open-top rotating drum. This guide compares only published maker specs recorded on November 1, 2026; it does not report hands-on testing or predict how either unit will work in your home. See the full automatic litter box comparison table for the broader set of recorded specifications.
Quick comparison
“Not stated” means the maker’s page did not state that value. Prices below are dated observations in US dollars, not a promise of today’s checkout price.
| Specification | Whisker Litter-Robot 4 | Neakasa M1 |
|---|---|---|
| Design | Enclosed rotating globe | Open-top rotating drum |
| Cat weight range | 3–25 lb | 2.2–about 33 lb |
| Entry | 15.75” × 15.75” opening | 13.86” entry height |
| Dimensions | 22” W × 27” D × 29.5” H | Not stated |
| Waste capacity | Not stated; emptying “as low as once every 8 days” | 11.23 L bin (“up to 14 days”) |
| Compatible litter | Clumping clay only; not plant-based, paper, pellet, or non-clumping | Clumping or scoopable; not non-clumping, paper, or pellet |
| Empty weight | 24 lb | 22.81 lb |
| Warranty | 1 year included; 3-year plan sold separately | 2-year limited |
| Price on the official site, checked November 1, 2026 | From $699; list price: Not stated | $379.99 on sale; $549.99 list price |
The price labels matter: Whisker’s page gives a starting price without a separate list price, while Neakasa’s page shows both sale and list prices. Keep those labels attached when comparing quotes later.
Where the specs point you
Start with your cat’s weight
A cat over 25 lb and within the M1’s stated upper limit of about 33 lb falls outside the LR4’s stated range but inside the M1’s. Likewise, the M1’s stated lower limit is 2.2 lb, compared with 3 lb for the LR4. Check each cat’s weight against those boundaries before considering price or warranty.
Being inside a stated weight range does not establish that your cat will have enough room or will use the box. Treat weight as an initial filter, then assess access and fit separately. The word “about” in the M1’s upper limit should remain part of the comparison.
Observe your cat’s response to enclosure
If your own cat avoids enclosed spaces around its current litter setup, the M1’s open-top design is a reason to investigate that profile. If you have observed your cat choosing a more enclosed place for privacy, the LR4’s globe is a reason to investigate the enclosed profile. These are observations to make about your cat, not general claims about what cats prefer.
Neither design label tells you whether your cat will accept a rotating unit. Keep the enclosure question separate from the question of how your cat responds to movement.
Compare matching entry measurements
The LR4’s 15.75-inch by 15.75-inch opening and the M1’s 13.86-inch entry height describe different things. You cannot use those numbers to conclude that one has a lower step or a larger opening. Ask for the missing counterpart measurements if entry access is central to your choice.
For space planning, the LR4 lists width, depth, and height. Neakasa’s product page did not state the M1’s dimensions when we checked. That missing entry prevents a footprint comparison; it does not imply that the M1 is smaller. The empty weights are comparable as labeled, but neither figure describes a unit filled with litter and waste.
Match the litter you intend to buy
The LR4 lists clumping clay only and explicitly excludes plant-based, paper, pellet, and non-clumping litter. If you intend to keep using a different material, that requirement is a reason to pause before choosing it.
The M1 lists clumping or scoopable litter and excludes non-clumping, paper, and pellet litter. That wording is broader than “clumping clay only,” but it is not confirmation that every product labeled clumping will work. Check the particular litter you plan to purchase against the maker’s current instructions. Neither maker’s page provides a basis for estimating that one unit will consume less litter.
Separate warranty duration from coverage
The LR4 includes one year of warranty coverage, with a three-year plan sold separately. The M1 lists a two-year limited warranty. If the stated warranty duration is a deciding factor, the M1’s two years exceed the LR4’s included year.
Do not treat the LR4’s optional plan as included in its starting price. These short warranty descriptions also do not establish identical coverage, exclusions, or claim procedures. Read those terms before assigning a dollar value to the difference in duration.
Do not rank waste capacity by days
The M1 lists an 11.23 L bin and an “up to 14 days” statement. Whisker’s page does not give a waste volume; it gives an emptying interval “as low as once every 8 days.” One volume and two differently worded time claims do not make a direct capacity comparison.
Neither page states the household usage behind its figure, so the day counts cannot be converted into a predicted emptying schedule for your home. Use them as maker statements to check, not as a guarantee of how often you will handle waste or a reason to calculate relative bin size.
Running costs
The purchase price gap is only part of ownership cost. Both makers point to recurring litter and waste supplies: clumping clay litter plus drawer liners for the LR4, and clumping litter plus waste-bin bags for the M1. Neither product page provides comparable prices or usage rates for those supplies.
Open the litter cost calculator prefilled for this pair. It carries the $699 LR4 starting price and $379.99 M1 sale price from November 1, 2026. Replace the sample litter and liner values with your own checked prices, and update the upfront amounts if your actual quotes differ.
Use your own expected purchase and replacement schedule for each supply. If a usage figure is uncertain, try more than one assumption and see how much the total changes. A calculator result based on sample inputs is a budget scenario, not evidence of product performance. Do not infer litter savings from the design, the bin volume, or the maker’s emptying interval.
What the spec sheets leave out
Before buying, turn the missing details into specific checks:
- Noise in your room: Check how the operating sound carries in the intended location. The spec pages used here do not state a noise level or tell you whether it would interrupt your household.
- Your cat’s reaction to rotation: Check how your cat responds to the movement under an appropriate introduction plan. An open top or enclosed globe alone does not answer that question.
- Footprint with service clearance: Check the space needed to access and remove the drawer or bin, as well as the space the unit occupies. Obtain the M1’s dimensions and the required clearances for both before committing a corner or cabinet area.
- Return window: Check the current return deadline, conditions, and any costs before ordering. A warranty duration is not a return window, and the spec pages we used do not state return terms.
Bottom line
The LR4’s spec profile fits a shortlist built around an enclosed globe, cats within 3–25 lb, and clumping clay litter. Its page lists exterior dimensions and includes a one-year warranty, with a longer plan sold separately.
The M1’s profile fits a shortlist built around an open top, a stated 2.2–about 33 lb range, and clumping or scoopable litter. It lists a bin volume and a two-year limited warranty, while its product page left exterior dimensions unstated when we checked. Choose which profile to investigate using your cat’s observed behavior, measured space, and checked supply costs; these specs alone do not establish a winner.
Informational guidance only. Specs and prices were copied from official pages on November 1, 2026; check current details before buying.